In the print production management classes I teach for the School of Visual Concepts, I emphasize the importance of building strong working relationships with industry vendors. In fact, my students probably think I’m a broken record.

But vendors make the magic happen by guiding projects through the shop, solving the problems that sometimes arise, and making me look good by ensuring that my projects turn out great. (Not folks I’d want to treat poorly!)

The happy surprise is that over many years of successful projects and partnerships, I’ve become friends with some wonderful people. I feel so lucky to be able to know and work with experts whose company I truly enjoy!

And when I’m sleuthing out new projects and clients like I am at the moment, I am especially grateful for their generous sharing of time and ideas to help me ferret out that next gig. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Disaster Avoidance Tip

Anthony Burrill says it best in his poster: “Work Hard & Be Nice To People.”

